‘Quick wins’ #16 – SLANT – Building habits in the classroom.

Help students become more involved in their own learning!!

Never Stop Learning

Image via http://olms1.cte.jhu.edu/29618 Image via http://olms1.cte.jhu.edu/29618

Why? I’ve struggled to get 100% attention from students 100% of the time. Quite often when I instruct students I’ll use the “3,2,12 technique to get students attention, which works well. But I then struggle to retain attention. This is made especially difficult when teaching in a Computing room – the lure of the computer screen can be too much for students. A typical instruction will have to be halted within seconds to address students who’s eyes have wondered back to their computer screen.

Possible solution. I needed a routine to retain student attention. I started my research by looking at Doug Lemov’s excellent collection of videos for his ‘Teach like a Champion’ book. I came across the video below.

It was during the video I saw a poster on the wall of one of the classrooms with the word ‘SLANT.’ Further investigation led me to…

View original post 578 more words

Leave a Reply

